Welcome to PASC22

Monday, June 27, 2022
Climate, Weather and Earth Sciences
Chemistry and Materials
Computer Science and Applied Mathematics
Humanities and Social Sciences
Life Sciences
Montreal Room


Join session

Live Stream

Session Chair

Lois Curfman



Welcome to Basel from the local host Martin Stricker (Canton of Basel-Stadt, Switzerland)

Welcome to PASC22 from the conference chairs Petros Koumoutsakos (ETH Zurich, Switzerland) and Lois Curfman McInnes (Argonne National Laboratory, US)



Martin Stricker is the head of Economic Development of the Canton of Basel-Stadt. He and his team are dedicated to ensuring that Basel remains a top location for companies, universities and research insitutes, and to help create the right conditions to foster innovation which is at the core of the Basel Area.Prior to joining the public sector, he spent a long time in Asia, first working for an international chemical corporation before setting up his own company supporting Swiss SMEs. He has a Master’s degree in business administration from the University of St. Gallen.


Petros Koumoutsakos is the Gordon McKay Professor for Computing in Science and Engineering and the Director of the Institute of Applied Computational Science at Harvard University. Petros is currently on leave from ETH Zurich where he holds the Chair for Computational Science since 2000. He is former chair of both PRACE Scientific Steering Committee and the Access Committee. Petros is elected Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the American Physical Society (APS), the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). He is recipient of the ACM Gordon Bell prize in Supercomputing and he is elected Foreign Member to the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE).His research interests are on the fundamentals and applications of computing and artificial intelligence to understand, predict and optimize fluid flows in engineering, nanotechnology, and medicine.

Lois Curfman

Lois Curfman McInnes is an Argonne Distinguished Fellow in the Mathematics and Computer Science Division of Argonne National Laboratory. Her work focuses on high-performance computational science, with emphasis on scalable numerical libraries and community collaboration toward productive and sustainable software ecosystems. Lois serves as Deputy Director of Software Technology for the U.S. DOE Exascale Computing Project. She also co-leads the IDEAS scientific software productivity project, which focuses on improving software productivity and sustainability as a key aspect of advancing scientific productivity. Lois is a SIAM Fellow and serves on SIAM Council. Lois received the 2015 SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science & Engineering and a 2009 R&D 100 Award (with collaborators); she also received the E.O. Lawrence Award in 2011 for outstanding contributions in R&D supporting DOE.